Scott Pilgrim Vol. 5 nominated for LA Times Book Prize!

Los Angeles Times announced yesterday the nominations for their 2009 Book Prizes, nominating Scott Pilgrim Vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. The Universe in the Graphic Novel Category!

From the LA Times Blog:

Nominees in the new Graphic Novel category, by Gilbert Hernandez, Bryan Lee O’Malley, Taiyo Matsumoto, David Mazzucchelli and Joe Sacco, are a diverse selection of works that include the Gen-Y favorite Scott Pilgrim, a new take on the classic Love & Rockets series, and an illustrated journalistic account of the Gaza strip.

Congrats to Bryan Lee O’Malley and all the nominees!

For a complete listing of all the finalists, CLICK HERE!

Discuss Scott Pilgrim and other titles in the Oni Press Forum

Posted in Awards, News, Scott Pilgrim

Congratulations Chris Schweizer: 2009 Eisner Nominee!

Crogan’s Vengeance – Best Publication for Teens/Tweens, 2009 Eisner Nominee CROGAN’S VENGEANCE, the first in an ongoing series of adventure graphic novels spanning continents and centuries as cartoonist Chris Schweizer climbs through the various branches of the Crogan clan’s family … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Crogan Adventures


Additional amounts of high-fiving should be applied to Oni Creator Ray Fawkes for his Canadian-rific nomination as Best Writer for The Apocalipstix! And Colourists (with a U) Dave McCaig & Nathan Fairbairn for their work on various issues of Stephen … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalipstix, Awards

Congratulations Oni Press Harvey Award Winners!

      BEST GRAPHIC ALBUM – ORIGINAL Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley           BEST NEW TALENT Vasilis Lolos, creator of Last Call          

Posted in Awards

2008 Shuster Award Winner David McCaig!

Oni Press is proud to announce Canadian Colourist David McCaig’s Shuster Award win! OUTSTANDING CANADIAN COMIC BOOK COLOURIST – Dave McCaig for Nextwave, Agents of H.A.T.E. #12, New Avengers #27-35, Fallen Son – The Death of Captain America #1: Wolverine, … Continue reading

Posted in Awards

2008 Harvey Award Nominations!

Oni Press is proud to announce 13 nominations in this year’s Harvey Awards! Including the first ever nomination of an Oni Press Staff Member! BEST LETTERER – Douglas E. Sherwood, Local BEST CARTOONIST – Bryan Lee O’Malley, Scott Pilgrim Gets … Continue reading

Posted in Awards

G4tv, Northwest Passage, Eisner Awards, NYCC 2008 … ‘nough said.

More love for Oni Press from G4tv and Fresh Ink. Scott Chantler’s Northwest Passage raked in an Eisner nomination this year and Blair Butler was on hand at the Oni booth, New York Comic Con 2008. Watch this weeks G4tv’s … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, News, Northwest Passage

Joe Infurnari Eisner Nomination for his webcomic The Process

Joe Infurnari, artist and co-creator of the Borrowed Time series, received an Eisner Nomination this year for his outstanding web comic The Process. If you haven’t gotten around to reading this comic, now is the time! A melange of creative … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Joe Infurnari

2008 Eisner Award Nominations!

Oni Press is proud to announce 7 nominations in this years Eisner Awards! Best Humor Publication: Wonton Soup, By James Stokoe Best Writer/Artist-Humor: Jame Stokoe, Wonton Soup Best Writer/Artist-Humor: Brandon Grahm, Multiple Warheads & King City Best Writer: Brain Wood, … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Black Metal, First In Space, Local, Northwest Passage, Wonton Soup

Blame Canada!

The Nominees for the 2008 Joe Shuster Awards were announced yesterday, and Oni Press is proud to sport 3 big Canadians! OUTSTANDING CANADIAN COMIC BOOK CARTOONIST (WRITER/ARTIST) – Bryan Lee O’Malley for Scott Pilgrim Vol. 4: Scott Pilgrim Gets It … Continue reading

Posted in Awards, Northwest Passage, Scott Pilgrim, Tek Jansen